Logistics proclaims the Silicon Economy

Digital platforms and artificial intelligence processes

The new Charter of Logistics

The Silicon Economy is a project of the Fraunhofer Institute for Material Flow and Logistics , supported by the German logistics industry. Together we are developing an open source infrastructure for the platform economy of the future.

Our Mission

According to current forecasts, the most successful business models in logistics will come from the platform economy over the next five years. Our understanding of the platform economy of the future is characterized by a diversity and coexistence of different logistics and industrial B2B platforms: the Silicon Economy. Logistics companies of all sizes will then have the opportunity to process their business activities fully automatically - from ordering to invoicing and transport.

Our goals

For the individual company, the construction of a platform is still associated with enormous costs, is immensely complex and is also fraught with legal uncertainties. That is why we are working together to create the software and hardware environment for the autonomous, Artificial Intelligence-controlled logistics of tomorrow. Our new logistics operating system will meet the highest data protection requirements and can be used by any company, regardless of size.

Silicon Economy Logistics Ecosystem

The Silicon Economy is a synonym for an upcoming digital infrastructure or digital ecosystem based on the automated negotiation, scheduling and control of the flow of goods, enabling new, digital business models for logistics (among others). This digital infrastructure enables comprehensive transparency in value added networks and creates trust along complete supply chains, from the supplier of raw materials to the end customer – which is maybe the most important prerequisite for getting all companies to participate.

The Silicon Economy Logistics Ecosystem innovation project aims to develop a complete environment for this new Silicon Economy:

  • Developing a Silicon Economy infrastructure and basis modules
  • Setting up a Silicon Economy platform (100% open source)

Numerous so-called development projects with companies make applications visible.

Key research objectives

  • Integration and networking of infrastructures, e.g. by using the International Data Spaces components to create secure data spaces together with the cloud infrastructures established in the »GAIA-X« project
  • Implementation of open and federal digital infrastructures and platforms
  • Real-time networking of things as a technological basis for new services and process models
  • Development of new services based on AI algorithms for the automation and autonomation of logistical processes and complete supply chains, e.g. solutions for digitally negotiated contracts (smart contracts); receipts and payment models for booking and invoicing logistics services (transport, handling, storage), platforms and digital environments for autonomous planning and scheduling processes

Key facts

  • Project partners: Fraunhofer Institute for Material Flow and Logistics IML, Fraunhofer Institute for Software and Systems Engineering ISST, TU Dortmund University with its Chairs of Material Handling and Warehousing, Enterprise Logistics and Supply Net Order Management
  • Project start: May 2020
  • Project period: 3 years
  • Volume: 25 million euros

 

Blockchain Europe

In logistics and supply chain management many economically independent partners work closely together. Transferring liability and risk, multilateral data exchange and trust issues are only some of the challenges here. As a key technology, blockchain has the potential to make data exchange tamper-proof and to automate and autonomize a large number of processes in the supply chain, e.g. the smart euro-pallet. Instead of consignment notes and lengthy, manual invoicing processes, goods can be invoiced in real-time by means of blockchain. With several hundred million euro-pallets and thousands of logistics service providers in the region, blockchain technology offers real added value.  

Blockchain Europe
© Fraunhofer IML

In the Blockchain Europe innovation project, the European Blockchain Institute in Dortmund, NRW, is being established and a research program is being developed for the institute:

  • As an organization, the Blockchain Institute is to develop the technical and scientific foundations, methods and standards for a networked infrastructure in terms of the Silicon Economy.
  • The research program addresses central research requirements related to IT architecture (blockchain broker), open source solutions for software, hardware and business models.

Central research questions and results

  • Blockchain devices (blockchain-capable cyber-physical system (CPS), multi light nodes for IoT hardware and software)
  • Bookable crypto tokens and means of payment, e-Money, CashOnLedger and smart contracts including, for example, appropriate libraries and platforms
  • Specific use cases, e.g. for customs duties and hazardous goods
  • Development of new business models based on light node devices and tokens, e.g. pay-per-use approaches and identity management
  • Quantification of the economic benefit of blockchain solutions
  • Definition of standards, interfaces and rules for open cooperation
  • Virtualization of all essential processes within value added networks

Key facts

  • Project partners. Fraunhofer Institute for Material Flow and Logistics IML, Fraunhofer Institute for Software and Systems Engineering ISST, TU Dortmund University with its Chairs of Material Handling and Warehousing and Enterprise Logistics
  • Project start: May 2020
  • Project period: 3 years
  • Volume: 7 million euros

Heading towards the Silicon Economy - The beginning 2019

Open structures rather than closed systems

The silicon economy is the data and platform economy where people, companies, autonomous vehicles and IoT devices interact with each other. The term “Silicon Economy” plays on its proximity to Silicon Valley, but in fact it stands for a paradigm shift:  the proprietary, i.e. manufacturer-bound, systems from Silicon Valley are being replaced by open, federal structures in the Silicon Economy. These ensure data sovereignty and create new, common standards for all. The most important innovation topics for realizing open and federal platforms are artificial intelligence (AI) processes, autonomous devices, smart contracting and distributed ledger technologies. All of these technologies are already available in Germany and have already been tested in industrial projects. Companies in the key business location of Germany thus have every opportunity to actively shape the new Silicon Economy in Europe and to prevail in the Silicon Economy as a whole.

© Fraunhofer IML

 

 

“However, it is both the goal and an opportunity of the century to create a complete environment for the new “Silicon Economy” and thus shape the future. Starting with logistics, this comprehensive vision could be successively transferred into products and business models.”

Prof. Dr. Dr. h. c. Michael ten Hompel

Immense potentials

It is no coincidence that it is logistics in particular that has proclaimed the coming of the Silicon Economy: logistics will be the first industry in which platforms, blockchains and artificial intelligence (AI) processes will prevail in huge numbers. This is because logistics can be completely algorithmized and because it is more highly standardized than any other industry. The potential for the use of artificial intelligence in logistics is therefore immense. AI will penetrate logistics in its entirety beyond the visible, from the single machine and the factory through to global value networks. Technology equipped with AI such as intelligent containers and pallets that negotiate autonomously, direct their way to the recipient and trigger payments by themselves, or swarms of autonomous vehicles in factories, are examples of how value chains will work in future.

 

Trust as a prerequisite

The digital infrastructure of the Silicon Economy is based on the automated negotiation, scheduling and control of goods flow. This infrastructure allows companies to trade their data without losing sovereignty. Trust in both the security of the data and the quality of the service “Made in Germany” is the prerequisite for companies to participate and become involved in the Silicon Economy.
The “Big Picture” for this implementation, including the necessary technologies, already exists: a complete data chain from data generation in the Internet of Things (“IoT Broker”) and the trading and booking of data (“Blockchain Broker”) through to the organization of (logistical) processes (“Logistics Broker”) with the all-encompassing secure data room (International Data Spaces IDS) and the platforms above it to realize the new digital business models.
This infrastructure not only makes it possible to achieve nationwide transparency in value creation networks, it also creates the necessary trust along complete supply chains - from raw material suppliers to end customers.

 

Platforms ensure “world champion” status

Logistics connects places and companies in global networks – starting with the physical flow of materials and goods and the exchange of data through to the financial flow in logistics management. In this context the following applies: logistics is the basis of world trade. Whoever controls the world's logistics chains controls the world's economy. Today, logistics is the third largest industry in Germany. Several German logistics companies are to be found among the top ten in the world. In addition, Germany is the “logistics world champion” (World Bank). But you don't stay world champion forever, you have to become world champion again and again.
In view of the high degree of standardization in logistics, it can be assumed that logistical AI will shortly negotiate the world's flows of goods and control, schedule and distribute them. In the B2C business, platforms such as Amazon, Uber and Alibaba have already succeeded as monopolists in taking over macroeconomic business and logistics processes. In the B2C segment Amazon has proven how a new business model can completely change and even dominate a market within a few years through the intelligent combination of logistics and IT. However, the market leadership among B2B logistics platforms is only just being decided. With its Silicon Economy concept, logistics can now stake its claim for the future.

Logistik ruft Silicon Economy aus

Digitale Plattformen und Verfahren Künstlicher Intelligenz

Wir bauen die Silicon Economy.

Die Silicon Economy ist ein Vorhaben des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Materialfluss und Logistik IML, unterstützt durch die deutsche Logistikwirtschaft. Gemeinsam entwickeln wir eine Open-Source-Infrastruktur für die Plattformökonomie der Zukunft.

Unsere Mission

In den kommenden fünf Jahren, so die aktuellen Prognosen, werden die erfolgreichsten Geschäftsmodelle der Logistik aus der Plattformökonomie kommen. Unser Verständnis der Plattformökonomie der Zukunft ist geprägt von einer Vielfalt und einem Nebeneinander unterschiedlicher logistischer und industrieller B2B-Plattformen: der Silicon Economy. Logistikunternehmen jeder Größe haben dann die Chance, ihre Geschäftstätigkeit vollständig automatisiert abzuwickeln – von der Bestellung über die Abrechnung bis zum Transport.

Unsere Ziele

Für das einzelne Unternehmen geht der Aufbau einer Plattform heute noch mit enormen Kosten einher, ist immens aufwendig und zudem mit rechtlichen Unsicherheiten behaftet. Deshalb schaffen wir die Software- und Hardwareumgebung für die autonome, durch Künstliche Intelligenz gesteuerte Logistik von morgen gemeinsam. Unser neues logistisches Betriebssystem wird höchste Anforderungen an den Datenschutz erfüllen und von jedem Unternehmen, gleich welche Größe, genutzt werden können.

Silicon Economy Logistics Ecosystems

Die Silicon Economy ist das Synonym für eine kommende digitale Infrastruktur bzw. ein digitales Ökosystem, das auf der automatisierten Verhandlung, Disposition und Kontrolle von Warenströmen beruht und neue, digitale Geschäftsmodelle (nicht nur) für die Logistik ermöglicht. Diese digitale Infrastruktur ermöglicht die flächendeckende Transparenz in Wertschöpfungsnetzen und schafft Vertrauen entlang kompletter Supply Chains, vom Rohstofflieferanten bis zum Endkunden – die vielleicht wichtigste Voraussetzung für die Teilhabe aller Unternehmen.

Im Umsetzungsprojekt Silicon Economy Logistics Ecosystem soll eine vollständige Umgebung für diese neue Silicon Economy geschaffen werden:

  • Entwicklung von Silicon-Economy-Infrastruktur und Basiskomponenten
  • Aufbau einer Silicon-Economy-Plattform (100% Open Source)

Zahlreiche sogenannte Entwicklungsprojekte mit Unternehmen machen die Anwendungen sichtbar.

Zentrale Forschungsziele

  • Integration und Vernetzung von Infrastrukturen, u.a. durch die Verwendung der Komponenten der International Data Spaces zur Schaffung sicherer Datenräume und die Cloud-Infrastrukturen, die im Projekt »GAIA-X« aufgebaut werden
  • Realisierung offener und föderaler digitaler Infrastrukturen und Plattformen
  • Echtzeitfähige Vernetzung von Dingen als technologische Basis für neue Dienstleistungen und Prozessmodelle
  • Entwicklung neuer Dienste und Dienstleistungen auf der Basis von KI-Algorithmen zur Automatisierung und Autonomisierung logistischer Prozesse und kompletter Lieferketten, z.B. Lösungen für digital verhandelte Verträge (Smart Contracts); Belege und Bezahlmodelle zur Buchung und Abrechnung logistischer Dienstleistungen (Transport, Umschlag, Lagerung), Plattformen und digitale Umgebungen für autonome Planungs- und Dispositionsprozesse

Key Facts:

  • Projektbeteiligte: Fraunhofer-Institut für Materialfluss und Logistik IML, Fraunhofer-Institut für Software- und Systemtechnik ISST, Technische Universität Dortmund mit den Lehrstühlen für Förder- und Lagerwesen, für Unternehmenslogistik und für Industrielles Informationsmanagement
  • Projektstart: Mai 2020
  • Projektlaufzeit: 3 Jahre
  • Volumen: 25 Millionen Euro

Blockchain Europe

In der Logistik und im Supply Chain Management arbeiten viele verschiedene, wirtschaftlich unabhängige Partner eng zusammen. Haftungs- und Gefahrenübergänge, multilateraler Datenaustausch und Vertrauensfragen sind dabei nur einige der Herausforderungen. Die Blockchain-Technologie besitzt als Schlüsseltechnologie das Potenzial, den Austausch von Daten manipulationssicher zu gestalten und eine Vielzahl von Prozessen in der Wertschöpfungskette zu automatisieren und zu autonomisieren. Ein Beispiel: die smarte Euro-Palette. Anstelle von Papier-Frachtbriefen und langwieriger, manueller Rechnungsprozesse können Güter mithilfe einer Blockchain in Echtzeit abgerechnet werden. Bei mehreren hundert Millionen Euro-Paletten und tausenden Logistikdienstleistern in der Region bietet die Blockchain-Technologie einen echten Mehrwert.

Im Umsetzungsprojekt Blockchain Europe werden sowohl das Europäische Blockchain-Institut in NRW in Dortmund aufgebaut als auch ein Forschungsprogramm für das Institut entwickelt:
  • Das Blockchain-Institut wird als Organisation die technischen und wissenschaftlichen Grundlagen, Methoden sowie Standards für eine vernetzte Infrastruktur im Sinne der Silicon Economy schaffen.
  • Das Forschungsprogramm soll zentrale Forschungsbedarfe bezüglich IT-Architektur (Blockchain Broker), Open-Source-Lösungen für Software, Hardware und Geschäftsmodelle adressieren.

Zentrale Forschungsfragen und -ergebnisse

  • Blockchain Devices (blockchainfähiges cyberphysisches System (CPS), Multi Light Nodes für IoT-Hard- und Software)
  • Bilanzierungsfähige Kryptotoken und -zahlungsmittel, e-Money, Cash-on-Ledger und Smart Contracts, inkl. z. B. entsprechender Bibliotheken und Plattformen
  • Konkrete Anwendungsbeispiele z. B. zu Zöllen und Gefahrgut
  • Entwicklung neuer Geschäftsmodelle auf Basis von Light Node Devices und To- kens, z. B. Pay-per-Use-Ansätze und Identitätsmanagement
  • Quantifizierung des wirtschaftlichen Nutzens von Blockchain-Lösungen
  • Definition von Standards, Schnittstellen und Regeln für die offene Zusammenarbeit
  • Virtualisierung aller wesentlichen Prozesse innerhalb von Wertschöpfungsnetzwerken 

Key Facts

  • Projektbeteiligte: Fraunhofer-Institut für Materialfluss und Logistik IML, Fraunhofer-Institut für Software- und Systemtechnik ISST, Technische Universität Dortmund mit den Lehrstühlen für Förder- und Lagerwesen und für Unternehmenslogistik
  • Projektstart: Mai 2020
  • Projektlaufzeit: 3 Jahre
  • Volumen: 7 Millionen Euro

Auf dem Weg in die Silicon Economy - Der Beginn 2019

Offene Strukturen statt geschlossener Systeme

Die Silicon Economy ist die Daten- und Plattformökonomie, in der Menschen, Unternehmen, autonome Fahrzeuge und IoT-Devices miteinander interagieren. Der Begriff der Silicon Economy spielt mit der Nähe zum Silicon Valley, doch tatsächlich steht er für einen Paradigmenwechsel: Die proprietären, also herstellergebundenen Systeme aus dem Silicon Valley werden in der Silicon Economy durch offene, föderale Strukturen abgelöst. Diese sichern Datensouveränität und schaffen neue, gemeinsame Standards für alle. Die wichtigsten Innovationsthemen zur Realisierung offener und föderaler Plattformen sind Verfahren Künstlicher Intelligenz (KI), autonome Devices, Smart Contracting und Distributed Ledger Technologies. Sämtliche dieser Technologien stehen in Deutschland bereits zur Verfügung und sind in Industrieprojekten bereits erprobt. Die Unternehmen am Wirtschaftsstandort Deutschland haben damit also alle Möglichkeiten, die neue Silicon Economy in Europa aktiv zu gestalten und sich in der Silicon Economy durchzusetzen.

© Fraunhofer IML

 

 

»Es ist aber das Ziel und zugleich eine Jahrhundertchance, eine vollständige Umgebung für die neue Silicon Economy zu schaffen und damit die Zukunft zu gestalten. Beginnend mit der Logistik wird diese umfassende Vision sukzessive in Produkte und Geschäftsmodelle umgesetzt werden.«

Prof. Dr. Dr. h. c. Michael ten Hompel

Das »Big Picture« der Silicon Economy

Immense Potenziale

Dass gerade die Logistik die Silicon Economy ausgerufen hat, kommt nicht von ungefähr: Die Logistik wird die erste Branche sein, in der sich Plattformen, Blockchains und Verfahren Künstlicher Intelligenz (KI) massenhaft durchsetzen. Denn die Logistik ist komplett »algorithmierbar« und wie kaum eine andere Branche im Detail standardisiert. Die Potenziale für den Einsatz von Künstlicher Intelligenz in der Logistik sind daher immens. KI wird die gesamte Logistik abseits des Sichtbaren von der einzelnen Maschine über die Fabrik bis hin zu globalen Wertschöpfungsnetzwerken durchdringen. Mit KI ausgestattete Technik wie intelligente Container und Paletten, die autonom verhandeln und sich selbst zum Empfänger routen und bezahlen, oder Schwärme autonomer Fahrzeuge in den Fabriken zeigen beispielhaft, dass und wie Wertschöpfungsketten in Zukunft funktionieren.

Vertrauen als Voraussetzung

Die digitale Infrastruktur der Silicon Economy beruht auf der automatisierten Verhandlung, Disposition und Kontrolle von Warenströmen. Diese Infrastruktur erlaubt es Unternehmen, ohne Verlust der Souveränität mit ihren Daten zu handeln. Vertrauen in die Sicherheit der Daten und eine Qualität »Made in Germany« ist die Voraussetzung für die Teilnahme und die Teilhabe der Unternehmen an der Silicon Economy.

Datenschutz und Datenverarbeitung

Wir setzen zum Einbinden von Videos den Anbieter YouTube ein. Wie die meisten Websites verwendet YouTube Cookies, um Informationen über die Besucher ihrer Internetseite zu sammeln. Wenn Sie das Video starten, könnte dies Datenverarbeitungsvorgänge auslösen. Darauf haben wir keinen Einfluss. Weitere Informationen über Datenschutz bei YouTube finden Sie in deren Datenschutzerklärung unter: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube

Prof. Dr. Dr. h. c. Michael ten Hompel

»Wer die Logistikketten der Welt steuert, der steuert die Wirtschaft der Welt«

Eröffnung des Zukunftskongress Logistik 2019

Dortmund, 17. September 20109

Das »Big Picture« für die Umsetzung inklusive der notwendigen Technologien gibt es bereits: eine vollständige Datenkette von der Datenerzeugung im Internet der Dinge (»IoT Broker«) über das Handeln und Buchen von Daten (»Blockchain Broker«) bis zur Organisation (logistischer) Prozesse (»Logistics Broker«) mit dem alles verbindenden sicheren Datenraum (International Data Spaces IDS) und den darüberliegenden Plattformen zur Realisierung der neuen digitalen Geschäftsmodelle. 

Diese Infrastruktur ermöglicht nicht nur die flächendeckende Transparenz in Wertschöpfungsnetzen. Sie schafft auch das notwendige Vertrauen entlang kompletter Supply Chains – vom Rohstofflieferanten bis zum Endkunden.

Plattformen sichern »Weltmeisterschaft«

Logistik verbindet Orte und Unternehmen in globalen Netzwerken – angefangen beim physischen Material- und Warenfluss über den Austausch von Daten bis hin zum Finanzfluss im logistischen Management. Es gilt: Wer die Logistikketten der Welt steuert, steuert die Wirtschaft der Welt. In Deutschland ist die Logistik heute die drittgrößte Branche. Deutsche Logistikunternehmen sind mehrfach unter den Top Ten der Welt zu finden. Zudem ist Deutschland »Logistikweltmeister« (Weltbank). Doch Weltmeister bleibt man nicht, man wird es immer wieder. 

Wir halten alle wesentlichen Technologien in Händen, um eine Silicon Economy Wirklichkeit werden zu lassen. Schon in kurzer Zeit wird logistisce KI die Warenströme dieser Welt verhandeln, steuern und disponieren. Im B2C-Geschäft ist es Plattformen wie Amazon, Uber oder Alibaba bereits gelungen, dominante gesamtwirtschaftliche Geschäfts- und Logistikprozesse aufzubauen. Amazon hat hierbei bewiesen, wie ein neues Geschäftsmodell durch die intelligente Kombination von Logistik und IT innerhalb weniger Jahre einen Markt vollständig verändern kann. Die logistische Marktführerschaft der B2B-Plattformen wird allerdings gerade erst entschieden.